LAW AND ORDER №4 May 2022



COURT IN BELARUS



The Republic of Belarus is a unitary state in Eastern Europe. It gained independence after the liquidation of the USSR. The declaration of state sovereignty was signed on July 27, 1990. The Constitution was adopted on March 15, 1994. The presidential variant of the new edition of the <u>Constitution</u>, providing an essential expansion of powers for the head of state was accepted in November 1996. The head of state is the President

of the Republic. The President is elected for a term of office of five years by a universal, free, equal, and direct and secret ballot (article 81 of the Constitution). State power in the Republic of Belarus is exercised on the principal of division of powers between the legislature, executive and judiciary.

The Parliament and the Government

The legislative power belongs to the bicameral parliament – the National Assembly (*Natsionalnoye Sobranie*) of the Republic of Belarus. It consists of the two chambers: the <u>House of Representatives</u> (*Palata Predstaviteley*) and the <u>Council of the Republic</u> (*Soviet Respublici*). The House of the Representatives consists of 110 deputies, elected by a system of direct representation, while the Council of the Republic is the chamber of territorial representation. It means that the Council of the Republic consists of 8 deputies from each region (*oblast*) (6 regions) and the city of Minsk, elected by the meetings of deputies of local councils of deputies. The 8 members of the Council of the Republic are appointed by the President. The term of the Parliament is 4 years.



The Government (Council of Ministers) directs the executive branch in Belarus. The <u>Council of Ministers</u> is the main body of state administration. The government is accountable to the President and responsible to the Parliament of the Republic of Belarus (art. 106 of the Constitution). The Prime Minister is the head of the Council of Ministers. He is appointed by the President of the Republic of Belarus with the consent of the House of Representatives. The Government issues acts that have binding force in the entire territory of the Republic. The competence of the Government and its activities shall be determined based on the Constitution and the Law of the Council of Ministers of the Republic of Belarus (art. 107 of the Constitution).



The Judicial System

The judicial system of Belarus is formed according to the Constitution of the Republic of Belarus, the Judicial System and the Status of Judges Code and by the Constitutional Justice Act.

The system of courts in Belarus is based on the territorial principle and specialisation. It includes the Constitutional Court and the System of courts of general jurisdiction.

The system of courts of general jurisdiction is:

- the Supreme Court of the Republic of Belarus,
- regional (Minsk city) courts,
- economic courts of the regions (the city of Minsk),
- district (city) courts.

The <u>Supreme Court</u> is the highest judicial body which carries out justice on civil, criminal cases and affairs about administrative offences, carries out supervision of judicial activity of the courts of general jurisdiction and realizes other powers according to law.



Constitutional control is carried out by the <u>Constitutional Court</u>. The Constitutional Court consists of 12 judges, 6 of them are appointed by the President of the Republic and the other 6 are elected by the Council of the Republic. According to the Constitution, the Constitutional Court draws the conclusions about the conformity of law, decrees, edicts, international agreements, and decisions and other acts of the Council of Ministers etc. to the Constitution of the Republic of Belarus and to the instruments of international law ratified by the Republic of Belarus.

Bodies of judicial community are:

- The Congress of Judges (the highest body of the judicial community, which exercise its powers in the composition of judges of the Constitutional Court, courts of general jurisdiction and retired judges);
- The Republican Council of judges (the body of the judicial community, exercising their powers between the congresses of judges and the republican conferences of judges);
- Conferences of judges of regional (Minsk city) courts and economic courts of regions (Minsk city);
- Higher Qualification Board of Judges of the Supreme Court, Qualification boards of judges of regional (Minsk city) courts and economic courts of regions (Minsk city).

More about Law

IDIOMS ABOUT LAW



Студенты группы П-12, ст. препод. Кафедры МКК и МТ Акулич Ю.Е.